Protist.Online

Electronic Symposium on Protistology

The cancellation of scientific meetings around the world this year has created a vacuum in our field in the lost opportunities to interact with our friends and colleagues. However, it is also arguable that travel to meetings was becoming both an excessive burden on our time and on the planet. Like it or not, the coronavirus has also forced most of us to quickly become proficient at remote meeting technology, so the global crisis is also an opportunity for us to reevaluate some aspects of scientific interactions.

To fill this gap in a small way, and also publicly experiment with virtual interactions, the Protist.Online - Electronic Symposium on Protistology was announced in May 2020. The pilot ESOP meeting took place as two relatively short live sessions, May 5-6 from 8 AM-10 AM Pacific Daylight Time (11 AM-1 PM Eastern Daylight Time / 4 PM-6 PM GMT+1).

The second iteration of this meeting, ESOP-OA (Oceania-Asia / Open Access) will be held on Tuesday, June 23 & Wednesday, June 24, 2020, from 3-6:30 pm JST (8-11:30 am CET). ESOP-OA especially aims to be accessible to researchers working in Oceania and Asia, whose time zones are often prohibitive toward joining other online meetings, but researchers from everywhere are very welcome.

Following the pilot symposium, all talks will be live through Zoom (with up to 500 participants this time). Participants are also invited to join a Slack workspace to facilitate questions, discussion, and networking. Links to the Zoom meeting and the Slack workspace will be sent to participants that register with names and email addresses below. Following the example of the pilot ESOP, we have a diverse lineup of amazing speakers from Asia, Oceania, and Europe for eight full-length talks and nine lightning talks.

The meeting platform will be Zoom. The symposium will be recorded and uploaded (not live-streamed) to YouTube YouTube Channel, but through Zoom participants will be able to take part in question and discussion periods following each talk. Technical instructions for participants are available HERE.

REGISTER IN ADVANCE FOR THE MEETING

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting

This website protist.online, will be updated regularly, so check back for more news including a technical instruction sheet for participants that we are developing.

Lastly, the ESOP idea was to stage a short meeting that mitigates as many of the drawbacks to lack of travel as possible, and even uses a few of the advantages (e.g. we are not tied to an “all day” schedule). We also hope by forcing us to try virtual meetings it might open the door to thinking about incorporating some aspect of this into future in-person meetings too (e.g. allowing for virtual registration access to some parts of regular meetings in the future).

Thanks and take care,

Organizers: - Adriana Lopes dos Santos, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore - Andres Gutierrez, National Institution of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand - Filip Husnik, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Scientific and advisory board: - Laura Eme, University of Paris-Sud, France - Maggi Brisbin, Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan - Mark van der Giezen, University of Stavanger, Norway

Speakers

Avatar

Akinori Yabuki

JAMSTEC, Japan

Avatar

Antonia Cristi

University of Otago & National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand

Avatar

Charmaine C. M. Yung

The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

Avatar

Daniel Vaulot

NTU, Singapore & CNRS, France

Avatar

Drahomíra Faktorová

Institute of Parasitology, Czech Academy of Sciences & University of South Bohemia, Czech Republic

Avatar

Elizabeth Ostrowski

Massey University, New Zealand

Avatar

Geoff McFadden

University of Melbourne, Australia

Avatar

Hyeon Been Lee

Kyungpook National University, South Korea

Avatar

Karl Safi

National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand

Avatar

Kevin Wakeman

Hokkaido University, Japan

Avatar

Mahwash Jamy

Uppsala University, Sweden

Avatar

Mariana Câmara dos Reis

UMR7144, CNRS & Sorbonne Université, Station Biologique de Roscoff, Ecology of Marine Plankton team, France

Avatar

Megan Sørensen

Stockholm University, Sweden

Avatar

Miguel Frada

Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Avatar

Ruth S. Eriksen

University of Tasmania, Australia

Avatar

Tristan Biard

Laboratoire d’Océanologie et Géosciences MREN, France

Meeting Program

Tuesday June 23

15:00 - 15:15 PM Japan Standard Time / 8:00 - 8:15 AM Central European Time. Welcome from the meeting organizers.

15:15 - 15:45 JST / 8:15 - 8:45 CET. Geoff McFadden (University of Melbourne, Australia): When SWEETs turn sour: bidirectional sugar transporters power dinoflagellate/coral symbioses in one direction but potentiated parasitism in the other.

15:45 - 15:50 JST / 8:45 - 8:50 CET. Kevin Wakeman (Hokkaido University, Japan): Exploring biodiversity and speciation patterns in marine apicomplexans.

15:50 - 16:20 JST / 8:50 - 9:20 CET. Ruth S. Eriksen (University of Tasmania, Australia): Tintinnid diversity in the Southern Ocean and relationships with phytoplankton - a microscopists dream.

16:20 - 16:25 JST / 9:20 - 9:25 CET. Elizabeth Ostrowski (Massey University, New Zealand): Population genomics of the social amoeba Dictyostelium discoideum.

16:25 - 16:45 JST / 9:25 - 9:45 CET. Coffee break.

16:45 - 17:15 JST / 9:45 - 10:15 CET. Mahwash Jamy (Uppsala University, Sweden): A phylogenetic perspective on environmental diversity.

17:15 - 17:20 JST / 10:15 - 10:20 CET. Anna M. G. Novák Vanclová (IBENS, France): Euglenids, dinoflagellates, and their shopping bags.

17:20 - 17:50 JST / 10:20 - 10:50 CET. Akinori Yabuki (JAMSTEC, Japan): Expanding Cryptista, illuminated by the study of Microheliella maris.

17:50 - 17:55 JST / 10:50 - 10:55 CET. Tristan Biard (Laboratoire d’Océanologie et Géosciences MREN, France): Can protistan ecology be inferred from in situ images?

17:55 - 18:30 JST / 10:55 - 11:30 CET. Open discussion (this part of the meeting won’t be recorded).

Wednesday June 24

15:00 - 15:15 PM Japan Standard Time / 8:00 - 8:15 AM Central European Time. Welcome from the meeting organizers.

15:15 - 15:45 JST / 8:15 - 8:45 CET. Miguel Frada (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel): Life cycle complexities of a bloom forming phytoplankton.

15:45 - 15:50 JST / 8:45 - 8:50 CET. Antonia Cristi (University of Otago & National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand)): Phytoplankton diversity across two contrasting oceanographic regions of the SW Pacific.

15:50 - 16:20 JST / 8:50 - 9:20 CET. Charmaine C. M. Yung (The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology): Interplay between green algae and viruses in the sea.

16:20 - 16:25 JST / 9:20 - 9:25 CET. Hyeon Been Lee (Kyungpook National University, South Korea): Biodiversity patterns of uncultured eukaryotes in hypersaline environments using the illumina platform with two different biomarkers.

16:25 - 16:45 JST / 9:20 - 9:45 CET. Coffee break.

16:45 - 17:15 JST / 9:45 - 10:15 CET. Daniel Vaulot (NTU, Singapore & CNRS, France): The Protist Ribosomal Reference Database (PR2): status and prospects.

17:15 - 17:20 JST / 10:15 - 10:20 CET. Karl Safi (National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand): Parasitism of diatoms in the Chatham Rise subtropical front East of New Zealand during summer.

17:20 - 17:50 JST / 10:20 - 10:50 CET. Megan Sørensen (Stockholm University, Sweden): The rapid recovery of fitness in a partner-switched Paramecium bursariaChlorella symbiosis.

17:50 - 17:55 JST / 10:50 - 10:55 CET. Drahomíra Faktorová (Institute of Parasitology, Czech Academy of Sciences & University of South Bohemia, Czech Republic): Genetic tool development in marine protists: Emerging model organisms for experimental cell biology.

17:55 - 18:00 JST / 10:55 - 11:00 CET. Mariana Câmara dos Reis (UMR7144, CNRS & Sorbonne Université, Station Biologique de Roscoff, Ecology of Marine Plankton team, France): From culture collection to the global ocean: a voyage into the microbiome of Emiliania huxleyi.

18:00 - 18:30 JST / 11:00 - 11:30 CET. Open discussion (this part of the meeting won’t be recorded).

Organizers

Avatar

Adriana Lopes dos Santos

Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Avatar

Andres Gutierrez

National Institution of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand

Avatar

Filip Husnik

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Avatar

Laura Eme

University of Paris-Sud, France

Avatar

Margaret Brisbin

Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan

Avatar

Mark van der Giezen

University of Stavanger, Norway